FY2012-2014 American Cochlear Implant Alliance Board of Directors

The Board of Directors exercises all corporate powers and manages the business and affairs of the Alliance. They establish program priorities central to its core mission of sponsoring research, increasing awareness and improving access to cochlear implants through advocacy while providing oversight of all activities carried out in support of its mission.

  • Craig A. Buchman, MD FACS*
    Vice Chairman of Clinical Affairs
    Chief, Division of Otology/Neurotology and Skull Base Surgery
    Director, UNC Ear and Hearing Center


  • VICE CHAIR -- Teresa A. Zwolan, PhD CCC-A*
    Professor, Department of Otolaryngology
    Director, Cochlear Implant Program
    University of Michigan Health System Otolaryngology/Head and Neck Surgery Hearing Rehabilitation Center
  • TREASURER -- Jill B. Firszt, PhD*
    Associate Professor, Department of Otolaryngology, Head-Neck Surgery
    Director, Cochlear Implant and Hearing Loss Research Laboratory
    Washington University School of Medicine
  • Thomas J. Balkany, MD FACS FAAP
    Hotchkiss Professor and Director,
    University of Miami Ear Institute
    Chairman Emeritus, Department of Otolaryngology
    Professor of Neurological Surgery and Pediatrics
  • Teresa H. Caraway, PhD CCC-SLP LSLS Cert. AVT
    Founder and President
    Learning Innovation Associates, LLC
    Co-Founder and Special Advisor
    Hearts for Hearing
  • Robert D. Cullen, MD FACS
    Medical Director
    Midwest Ear Institute
  • Bruce J. Gantz, MD FACS
    Professor and Head
    University of Iowa
    Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
    University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics
  • David S. Haynes, MD, FACS
    CI2014 Program Chair
    Professor of Otolaryngology, Neurosurgery and Hearing and Speech Sciences
    Cochlear Implant Program Director, Vanderbilt University Center
  • John K. Niparko, MD
    Founding Chair
    Professor and Chair, Department of Orolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery
    Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California
  • Donna L. Sorkin, M.A.
  • SECRETARY -- Nancy M. Young, MD*
    Lillian S. Wells Professor of Pediatric Otolaryngology, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
    Fellow, Knowles Hearing Center, Northwestern University School of Communication
    Head, Section of Otology & Neurotology;
    Medical Director of Audiology & Pediatric Cochlear Implant Programs, Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago
  • Steven R. Rech, Attorney
    Schwartz, Junell, Greenberg & Oathout
  • Bridget Scott-Weich, EdD NBC LSLS Cert AVEd
    Deaf and Hard of Hearing Educator
    Los Angeles Unified School District
  • William H. Shapiro, AuD CCC-A*
    Clinical Associate Professor
    Department of Otolaryngology
    New York University
    Supervisor of Audiology
    New York University Cochlear Implant Center
  • Kathryn Wilson, MA CCC-SLP LSLS Cert. AVT
    Director of FIRST YEARS
    Division of Speech and Hearing Sciences
    University of North Carolina School of Medicine
  • Jace Wolfe, PhD, CCC-A
    Director of Audiology
    Hearts for Hearing
    Oklahoma City, OK

* denotes Executive Committee member FY2013-2014