BLOG   |   CAREERS   |   E-MAGAZINE   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join
News : Archived News

Lasker-DeBakey Clinicl Medical Research Award given to 3 for the dvlpmt of the cochlear implant

Tuesday, September 10, 2013  
Share |

Three scientists have been recognized for their contributions to the development of the modern cochlear implant: Graeme Clark (Australia), Ingeborg Hochmair (Austria) and Blake Wilson (US) with the Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award. The Lasker Awards are among the most respected science prizes in the world and often presage future recognition by the Nobel committee.  Eighty-three Lasker laureates have received the Nobel Prize.  This is the first time that individuals involved in the development of cochlear implants have been recognized with such a distinguished honor.  Links to the story including an article on the Science page of the New York Times follows:

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal